President Obama declared a major disaster in Oklahoma

February 26th, 2010 - 1:42 am ICT by BNO News  

WASHINGTON, D.C. (BNO NEWS) – President Barack Obama declared on Thursday that a major disaster exists in the State of Oklahoma and ordered Federal aid to supplement State and local recovery efforts.

The strong winter storm that hit Oklahoma during the period of December 24-25, 2009 affected a large part of the state.

After the President’s declaration, the counties of Canadian, Cleveland, Comanche, Cotton, Craig, Delaware, Garvin, Grady, Hughes, Jackson, Jefferson, Kay, Lincoln, Love, McClain, Muskogee, Noble, Nowata, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Ottawa, Payne, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Rogers, Sequoyah, Stephens, Tillman, and Tulsa have federal funding available.

Eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by a severe winter storm are also entitled for the funding.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Assessments are still underway in several areas of the state. Furthermore, additional counties may be designated for federal assistance as well.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in World News |