Fourteen countries elected to serve on the UN Human Rights Council

May 14th, 2010 - 4:49 am ICT by BNO News  

UNITED NATIONS (BNO NEWS) – President of the United Nations (UN) General Assembly, Ali Treki, on Thursday announced the fourteen elected countries that will serve on the UN Human Rights Council.

Angola, Libya, Mauritania and Uganda were chosen to fill the four vacant African seats on the 47-member panel, and the two vacant seats in the Latin American and Caribbean region went to Ecuador and Guatemala.

In the Eastern European category, the two available seats went to Poland and the Republic of Moldova while in Western Europe, the seats went to Spain and Switzerland.

Four countries contested the positions distributed to Asian States, with Malaysia, Maldives, Qatar and Thailand winning the most votes to join the panel.

The countries will serve three-year terms starting next month after one round of balloting among Member States at UN Headquarters in New York. The elected countries cannot run for immediate re-election after two consecutive terms, as successful candidates in each category must obtain an absolute majority of valid votes cast by the 192 General Assembly members

The 47 members include 13 from Africa, 13 from Asia, six from Eastern Europe, eight from Latin America and the Caribbean, and seven from Western Europe and other States.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in World News |