EU approves visa-free travel for Albanians and Bosnians

November 8th, 2010 - 9:41 pm ICT by BNO News  

BRUSSELS (BNO NEWS) — The European Union (EU) on Monday approved the extension of visa-free travel for citizens of Albania and Bosnia and Herzegovia.

Interior ministers of the 27 EU member states agreed unanimously to the plan, allowing Albanians and Bosnians to have access through the 25 EU nations (excluding Ireland and the United Kingdom) for up to three months. The new regulation will begin in December.

However, their full membership in the EU is still being reviewed as members said both countries need to meet certain conditions relating to border controls, passport security, organized crime, and corruption.

Monitoring will include preventing the misuse and abuse of asylum procedures. The two countries will be joining Macedonia, Montenegro, and Serbia in having visa-free access, but ministers have been concerned as the number of asylum seekers has increased rapidly. The most affected countries have been Belgium, Germany, Sweden, and the Netherlands.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in World News |