Your deleted facebook pics remain accessibleFebruary 7th, 2012 - 11:11 am ICT by IANS
London, Feb 7 (IANS) It may come as a rude shock, but Facebook users should not feel surprised if tomorrow they come across their photos existing in the web world despite having deleted them personally long ago.
The photos do not disappear even after they are deleted but can still be accessed by anyone with a link to the images themselves. The company admits that its systems “do not always delete images in a reasonable period of time”, the Daily Mail reported.
Deleted images vanish from ‘normal’ views of the site, meaning if you log in to Facebook and look on somebody’s photo page, they won’t be visible. But they would still remain visible to anyone with a direct URL link to the picture.
That means that if, for instance, a picture has been circulated by email, the image will still be there for anyone who clicks the link.
- Facebook keeps 'deleted' user photos for up to 30 months - Oct 14, 2010
- New browser combines web search with Facebook - Nov 09, 2010
- How to manage your online image - Jun 06, 2010
- Cyber criminals to target social networks, mobile devices: Security Report - Apr 06, 2011
- 'See who viewed your profile' is latest Facebook scam - Nov 30, 2010
- Your photos remain on Facebook even after they have been deleted - May 21, 2009
- Government denies internet censorship, Modi joins protest - Aug 24, 2012
- Facebook keeps record of users' former lovers - Nov 02, 2010
- Websites retain photos deleted by users - May 21, 2009
- Facebook Email Scam, McAfee Issues Warning - Mar 19, 2010
- Beware Of Facebook Worm, Thousands Infected - Jun 05, 2010
- Facebook Attacked By New Worm, Again! - Oct 02, 2010
- Breastfeeding photos on Facebook deemed 'unsuitable for children' - Oct 15, 2010
- Facebook hit by phishing attacks - May 02, 2009
- Facebook sparks row after deleting breastfeeding support group page - Jan 09, 2011