UN votes 34 new members to international legal group

November 18th, 2011 - 8:36 am ICT by IANS  

United Nations, Nov 18 (IANS) The UN General Assembly voted here Thursday to elect 34 new members to the International Law Commission.

The International Law Commission, tasked with promoting the development of international law and its codification, consists of 34 total members, all from different member states, who are required to have an international law background to serve, Xinhua reported.

The countries with representatives elected to the commission are as follows: Brazil,India, Jamaica, Mexico, Argentina, Colombia, Costa Rica, Slovenia, Russia, the Czech Republic, Egypt, South Africa, Algeria, Cameroon, Kenya, Nigeria, Tanzania, Mozambique, Libya, Japan, China, Jordan, the Republic of Korea, Indonesia, Qatar, Thailand, Germany, Sweden, Spain, France, Canada, the US, Britain, and Switzerland.

The officials, who will serve five-year terms, beginning Jan 1, 2012, are nominated by UN member states but must gain General Assembly’s approval to become representatives in the Geneva-based commission.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in World |