UN Security Council elects new non-permanent members

October 18th, 2008 - 11:07 am ICT by IANS  

United Nations, Oct 18 (Xinhua) Five countries have been elected as new non-permanent members of the UN Security Council.Austria, Japan, Mexico, Uganda and Turkey were Friday elected to the UN Security Council as non-permanent members.

All 192 members of the UN General Assembly participated in the secret ballot, with Japan beating Iran 158-32 to get the seat for Asia Group.

Japan will replace Indonesia to serve a two-year term in the Council, while Austria and Turkey will replace Belgium and Italy.

Uganda and Mexico, which won the seats unopposed for the Africa and Latin America groups respectively, will replace South Africa and Panama.

Elections for non-permanent members of the Security Council are held by a secret ballot in the General Assembly. The winning candidate requires a two-third majority in the Assembly.

The five permanent members are China, France, Russia, Britain and the US.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in World |