Shyam Benegal wins special IIFA honour(Second Lead)

June 9th, 2008 - 12:29 am ICT by IANS  

A file-photo of Mani Ratnam
By Arpana
Bangkok, June 8 (IANS) Veteran filmmaker Shyam Benegal won the special honours at the International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) 2008 awards here Sunday night while music composer A.R. Rahman and the Shah Rukh Khan starrer “Om Shanti Om” figured among the winners. Mumtaz, a popular star of the yesteryears, was also named for the IIFA special honour, while actor Akshay Kumar bagged the special award from the host country, Thailand.

The award for the best performance in a negative role went to Viveik Oberoi for “Shootout at Lokhandwala”, while the one for the best performance in a comic role went to Govinda (”Partner”).

At the gala ceremony at Siam Niramik here, Karan Johar, Urmila Matondkar, Boman Irani and Ritesh Deshmukh compered Bollywood’s much awaited award ceremony. It was the team of Boman and Ritesh that won the hearts of the audience with their easy repartee in a show that could, however, do with better management.

The 2,000-capacity hall was full, with a majority of the audience consisting of the Indian diaspora.

The award announcements were preceded by performances of songs from some eagerly awaited Hindi films and Govinda stole the show with his dance number.

Rahman was named the best music director for his score in “Guru”. Shreya Ghoshal won the honours for the best playback singer (female) for “Barso re” from Mani Ratnam’s “Guru”, which film also bagged awards for the best background score (Rahman) and best song recording (H. Sridhar).

The best playback singer (male) award was bagged by Shaan for “Jab se tere naina” from “Saawariya”.

Veteran Javed Akhtar was named the best lyricist for “Om Shanti Om”, which also garnered awards for best special effects (Red Chillies Entertainment), best art direction (Sabu Cyril), best costume design (Manish Malhotra, Karan Johar and Sanjeev Mulchandani) and best makeup.

The award for best screenplay was won jointly by Anurag Basu (”Life in a Metro”) and Jaideep Sahni (”Chak De! India”). Sahni also won the award for best story for the same film.

“Chak De! India” also took home the trophy for best cinematography. Imtiyaz Ali was named the best dialogue writer for “Jab We Met”.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in World |