Sehwag, Tendulkar return to top 20 in ODI rankings

March 16th, 2009 - 7:19 pm ICT by IANS  

Sachin Tendulkar Dubai, March 16 (IANS) India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni retained his top spot in the one-day rankings while Virender Sehwag and Sachin Tendulkar were the biggest movers in the latest rankings released by the International Cricket Council (ICC) here Monday.
Sehwag, who scored 299 runs against New Zealand, has jumped nine places to sixth position. It is the first time in nearly six years that the batsman has occupied a place in the top 10.

Tendulkar has also made a movement in the right direction as his series scores of 20, 61 and 163 not out have helped him vault eight places to 13th spot. Tendulkar held the top spot in the listing as recently as March 2008.

However, Yuvraj Singh and Gautam Gambhir have both headed in the wrong direction in the rankings, dropping one and four places, respectively. Yuvraj now sits in fourth place while Gambhir shares 16th spot with South Africa’s Herschelle Gibbs.

In rankings for ODI bowlers, New Zealand captain Daniel Vettori has fallen off top spot and now sits in fifth place. Vettori managed just two wickets in the series which was dominated by India batsmen.

Vettori’s drop has benefitted Sri Lanka fast bowler Nuwan Kulasekara who, for the first time in his career, has surged to the top of bowlers’ rankings. Australia fast bowler Nathan Bracken is in second place while Kyle Mills of New Zealand is third.

In all-rounders, Yuvraj has entered the top five for the first time in his career. He has leapfrogged West Indies captain Chris Gayle and Jacob Oram of New Zealand to share third place with Pakistan’s Shoaib Malik. Bangladesh’s Shakib Al Hasan leads the field with Andrew Flintoff in second place.


1.Mahendra Singh Dhoni (India) 815

2.Mike Hussey (Australia) 798

3.Chris Gayle (West Indies) 783

4.Shivnarine Chanderpaul (West Indies) and Yuvraj Singh (India) 769

6.Virender Sehwag (India) 747

7.Graeme Smith (South Africa) 741

8.Kevin Pietersen (England) 730

9.Mohammad Yousuf (Pakistan) 716

10.Abraham de Villiers (South Africa) 715


1.Nuwan Kulasekara (Sri Lanka) 724

2.Nathan Bracken (Australia) 700

3.Kyle Mills (New Zealand) 697

4.Muttiah Muralidaran (Sri Lanka) 696

5.Daniel Vettori (New Zealand) 694

6.Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh) 687

7.Stuart Broad (Engladesh) 673

8.Mashrafe Mortaza (Bangladesh) 671

9.Andrew Flintoff (England) 662

10.Jerome Taylor (West Indies) and Mitchell Johnson (Australia) 660


1.Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh) 403

2.Andrew Flintoff (England) 366

3.Shoaib Malik (Pakistan) and Yuvraj Singh (India) 340

5.Chris Gayle (West Indies) 336

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in World |