Sandeep to lead 18-man squad in Asia Cup hockey

April 25th, 2009 - 7:43 pm ICT by IANS  

New Delhi, April 25 (IANS) Sandeep Singh will lead a 18-man squad as India defend their Asia Cup hockey title in Kuantan, Malaysia, from May 9.
There were four changes to the side that won the Azlan Shah Cup earlier this month. Ignace Tirkey, Sarwanjit Singh, Bharat Chhikara and Shivendra Singh have been replaced by V.Raghunath, Vikram Pillay, Rajpal Singh and Hari Prasad. Shivendra, who has been recovering from a shoulder injury, has been put on the stand-by list.

India will attempt to lift the Asia Cup title for the third time after having won it in 2003 (Kuala Lumpur) and 2007 (Chennai).

The winner of the Asia Cup will get an automatic entry to the 2010 World Cup in New Delhi.


Goalkeepers: Baljit Singh, Adrian D’Souza

Full Backs: Sandeep Singh (captain), Dilip Tirkey, V.Raghunath

Midfielders: Gurbaj Singh, Sardar Singh, Ajitesh Roy, Vikram Pillay, Prabodh Tirkey, V.S.Vinaya

Forwards: Tushar Khandker, Rajpal Singh, Prabhjot Singh, S.V.Sunil, Arjun Halappa

Hari Prasad, Gurvinder Singh Chandi

Standbyes: P.R.Sreejesh, Sarwanjit Singh, Bharat Chhikara, Shivendra Singh

PooL A: South Korea, Japan, Malaysia and Sri Lanka

POOL B: India, Pakistan, China, Bangladesh

Fixture (India’s matches):

May 9: India vs. Bangladesh

May 10: India vs. Pakistan

May 12: India vs. China

May 14: semi-finals

May 16: Final

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in World |