Pakistan snubs ICL players for T20 World Cup

May 4th, 2009 - 8:34 pm ICT by IANS  

Shoaib Akhtar By Omar Khalid
Karachi, May 4 (IANS) Pakistan Monday snubbed its three Indian Cricket League (ICL) players while announcing the 15-man squad for next month’s World Twenty20 Championship in England.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) had included the previously banned trio of Abdul Razzaq, Rana Naved-ul-Hasan and Imran Nazir as reserves in its preliminary squad for the biennial spectacle but dropped them in the final 15.

Razzaq, Rana and Imran were hoping for a comeback to the Pakistan team for the June 5-21 World Twenty20 championship.

Skipper Younis Khan will captain the Pakistan squad that includes two new faces in pacer Mohammad Aamer and Shahzaib Hassan.

Surprisingly, national selectors have shown faith in fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar, who failed to impress much in the recently-concluded one-day series against Australia in Abu Dhabi.

Akhtar heads the Pakistan pace battery that includes Umar Gul, Sohail Tanvir, Yasir Arafat and youngster Mohammad Aamer.

Saeed Ajmal is the only specialist spinner in the squad that includes several all-rounders including former captain Shoaib Malik, Shahid Afridi and youngster Fawad Alam.

Pakistan have also included teenage opener Ahmed Shahzad in the squad on the basis of his impressive debut against Australia in UAE.

Pakistan is eyeing the World Twenty20 title after finishing runner-up to India in the inaugural edition of the tournament in South Africa in 2007.

Pakistan squad: Younis Khan (captain), Misbah-ul-Haq, Salman Butt, Ahmed Shahzad, Shoaib Malik, Shahid Afridi, Fawad Alam, Kamran Akmal, Yasir Arafat, Shoaib Akhtar, Umar Gul, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Aamer, Saeed Ajmal and Shahzaib Hassan.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in World |