Pak Supreme Court bench rejects imposition of Provisional Constitutional Order

November 14th, 2007 - 8:23 am ICT by admin  
The emergency bench consists of Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry, Justice Javed Iqbal, Justice Rana Bhagwandas, Justice Mir Shakirullah Jan, Justice Nasir-ul-Mulk, Justice Raja Fayyaz Ahmed and Justice Ghulam Rasani.

The apex court bench said the emergency cannot be imposed and the PCO could not be issued.

It has also been said in the decision that no judge and chief justice of the Supreme Court and High Courts can take oath under the new PCO.Under this decision, all corps commanders, chief of army staff and all civil and military officials have been bound that they would not abide by any order of the government which go against the constitution or the law.

The prime minister and the president have been made parties in the decision.

The chief justice and all members of the bench are present in the building of the Supreme Court while the chief justice called the IG Islamabad in connection with cordoning off the Supreme Court building and the stopping of the media from entering the building but he did not appear, The News reported.

The bench said that it would make every such decision which would be in accordance with the law and the Constitution and nobody would be allowed to break the law.

The Musharraf regime has reportedly set a deadline of 11 p.m.for concerned officials to sign the PCO. (ANI with inputs)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in World |