No Indian player in World Twenty20 men’s team

June 22nd, 2009 - 6:58 pm ICT by IANS  

London, June 22 (IANS) No Indian player found a place in the World Twenty20 men’s team while Rumeli Dhar was the only one from the country to feature in the women’s team, announced by a select group of experts chosen by International Cricket Council (ICC) Monday.
Defending champions India had a forgettable outing in the World Twenty20, losing all three matches in the Super Eights. Even the in-form Yuvraj Singh failed to make the cut in the 12-member team, showcasing the best Twenty20 players of the world. Pakistan skipper Younis Khan was named the leader of the side.

Indian women’s team fared better than the men’s, reaching the semi-final where they lost to England. All-rounder Dhar was the sole Indian in the team led by Charlotte Edwards of England.

World Twenty20 teams are (in batting order):


Chris Gayle (West Indies), Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka), Jacques Kallis (South Africa), AB de Villiers (South Africa), Younus Khan (Pakistan, captain), Dwayne Bravo (West Indies),

Shahid Afridi (Pakistan), Kamran Akmal (Pakistan, wicketkeeper), Wayne Parnell (South Africa), Umar Gul (Pakistan), Ajantha Mendis (Sri Lanka).

12th man: Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)


Shelley Nitschke (Australia), Charlotte Edwards (England, captain), Claire Taylor (England), Aimee Watkins (New Zealand), Sarah Taylor (England, wicketkeeper), Suzi Bates (New Zealand),

Lucy Doolan (New Zealand), Rumeli Dhar (India), Laura Marsh (England), Holly Colvin (England), and Sian Ruck (New Zealand).

12th player: Eshani Kaushalya (Sri Lanka)

–Indo-Asian News Servics


Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in World |