Its official, Obama is the next US President

January 9th, 2009 - 1:36 pm ICT by ANI  

Barack Obama

Washington, Jan 9 (ANI): The tallying of the votes for the 2008 US presidential election took place on January 8, and President-elect Barack Obama was officially declared the winner.

The counting of the Electoral College votes, during a joint session of Congress, showed that Obama and Joe Biden received 365 electoral votes, while John McCain and Sarah Palin got 173, reports

The reading of electoral votes for each state is a quadrennial formality for members of the House and Senate, with Vice President Dick Cheney presiding over the joint session in the House chamber.

The house was packed with Democrats, who were applauding and laughing, while the Republicans, the ones who decided to show, pretended to look happy.

Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (D-Nev.) and Majority Whip Richard J. Durbin (D-Ill.), both in attendance, leapt to their feet when the final tally was called.

Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) and Minority Whip Jon Kyl (R-Ariz.), who spent most of the session whispering behind clenched fists, were the last to stand. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in World |