India win toss, bat in second final against Australia

March 4th, 2008 - 10:26 am ICT by admin  

A file-photo of Harbhajan Singh

Brisbane, March 4 (IANS) India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and opted to bat in the second of the best-of-three finals of the Commonwealth Bank Triangular Series at the Gabba here Tuesday. India lead the finals 1-0. Indian pacer Ishant Sharma failed to recover from a finger injury suffered in the first final in Sydney Sunday and Sreesanth replaced him in the XI as the lone change.

Australia also effected one change, replacing left-arm spinner Brad Hogg with pacer Stuart Clark.


India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain/wicket-keeper), Sachin Tendulkar, Robin Uthappa, Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, Praveen Kumar, Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Sreesanth and Piyush Chawla

Australia: Ricky Ponting (captain), Adam Gilchrist, Matthew Hayden, Michael Clarke, Andrew Symonds, Mike Hussey, Brett Lee, James Hopes, Mitchell Johnson, Nathan Bracken and Stuart Clark

Umpires: A.L. Hill (New Zealand) and Simon Taufel (Australia)

TV umpire: B.N.J. Oxenford (Australia)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (New Zealand)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in World |