HINDRAF leaders among 13 ISA detainees to be freed

May 8th, 2009 - 1:08 pm ICT by ANI  

Hindraf Putrajaya (Malaysia), May 8 (ANI): Banned Hindu Rights Action Force (HINDRAF) leaders, P.Uthayakumar, M.Manoharan and K.Vasantha will be among 13 ISA detainees to be released soon, Malaysia’s Home Minister Hishammuddin Tun Hussein announced in Putrajaya today.

According to the New Strait Times and The Star, the three remaining leaders are being detained under the Internal Security Act (ISA) and will be released soon.

Hussein said he would sign the documents on Friday.

The 13 ISA detainees include six Malaysians, two Indonesians and five Filipinos.

The other three Malaysians are Zulkepli Marzuki, Jeknal Adil and Adzmi Pindatun while the Indonesians are Zainun Rasyhid and Aboud Ghafar Shahril. The Filipinos as Sufian Salih, Hasim Talib, Abdul Jamal Azahari, Yusof Mohd Salam and Husin Alih.

Hussain added the release of the three Hindraf leaders was not politically motivated.

When he became Prime Minister, Najib Tun Razak ordered the release of 13 ISA detainees, including HINDRAF leaders V. Ganabatirau and R. Kengadharan. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in World |