Five new UNSC members begin their term

January 2nd, 2012 - 10:22 am ICT by IANS  

United Nations, Jan 2 (IANS) Azerbaijan, Guatemala, Morocco, Pakistan and Togo, the five new non-permanent members of the 15-nation UN Security Council (UNSC) have begun serving their two-year terms.

The five new Council members were elected by the UN General Assembly in October 2011 and commenced their term Sunday, Xinhua reported Monday.

The Council comprises of 15 members; five of them — China, France, Russia, Britain and the US are permanent members while 10 others are elected by the UN General Assembly for a two-year term.

The five members whose term on the UN security council ended Sunday comprised Lebanon, Nigeria, Gabon, Bosnia and Brazil.

The five temporary members that will remain through 2012 are Colombia, Germany, India, Portugal and South Africa.

Under the UN Charter, the Security Council, the most powerful UN body, has the primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in World |