EU brings common visa code for Schengen zone travellers

April 6th, 2010 - 3:04 pm ICT by IANS  

Brussels, April 6 (IANS) Majority of European Union countries have put in place a common visa rule for their citizens travelling across the Schengen zone.
The new visa code implemented since Monday will provide visa to the citizens of 22 countries through common easy procedure, EU’s Home Affairs Commissioner Cecilia Malmstrom said.

The EU member states will now have the same verification and entry procedures to grant permit for those travelling within the region for a maximum period of ninety days, Prensa Latina reported.

Schengen zone comprises 22 EU countries and three non-EU nations - Norway, Iceland and Switzerland. Britain, Ireland, Bulgaria, Romania and Cyprus are out of the zone.

Issuing visas for the Schengen area to third-country nationals will become clearer, more precise, transparent and fairer, the EU official said adding that now getting an EU visa will become faster.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in World |