EC issues notification for second phase of Karnataka polls

April 22nd, 2008 - 1:26 pm ICT by admin  

Bangalore, Apr 22 (ANI): The Election Commission today issued a notification for the second phase of the three-phased Karnataka Assembly elections, which is scheduled to be held on May 16.
A total of 66 Assembly constituencies in 10 districts of Raichur, Koppal, Uttara Kannada, Bellary, Chitradurga, Davanagere, Shimoga, Udupi, Chikmagalur and Dakshina Kannada will face the ballot in this phase.
The last date for the filing nominations is April 29. The scrutiny will take place on April 30. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is May 2.
The notification for the third phase, which is scheduled to be held on May 22, will be issued on April 26.
The Congress, the BJP and the JD (S) have already announced their candidates for the first phase, which is scheduled to be held on May 10. As many as 89 Assembly constituencies spread over 11 districts of Tumkur, Chikkaballapur, Kolar, Bangalore Urban, Bangalore Rural, Ramanagar, Mandya, Hassan, Kodagu, Mysore and Chamarajnagar will go to polls.
The counting of votes in all the 224 constituencies will take place on May 25. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in World |