Cricket squad for Bangladesh tri-series announced

May 30th, 2008 - 4:42 pm ICT by admin  

Harbhajan Singh

Mumbai, May 30 (ANI): Yusuf Pathan and Pragyan Ojha are new faces in the Indian cricket team which was selected on Friday for the next months Bangladesh tri-series and Asia cup in Pakistan
The selectors have favoured a young squad and ignored former captains Sourav Ganguly and Rahul Dravid, who were dropped from the one-day team during the triangular series in Australia.
Mahendra Singh Dhoni is the captain while Yuvraj Singh will be the vice-captain of the team. Murali Kartik is not in the team while Harbhajan Singh is already out of the team as he is serving a five-match ban for slapping S. Sreesanth during an IPL match.
Sachin Tendulkar and Zaheer khan are not playing due to injury.
The tri-series in Bangladesh will be played from June 8 to June 14 and the Asia Cup from June 24 to July 6.
The squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain/wicketkeeper), Yuvraj Singh (vice-captain), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Rohit Sharma, Irfan Pathan, Robin Uthappa, Suresh Raina, S. Sreesanth, Yusuf Pathan, Ishant Sharma, Praveen Kumar, Rudra Pratap Singh, Piyush Chawla and Pragyan Ojha. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in World |