Cricket fans say Team India will win Chennai Test against Proteas

March 26th, 2008 - 5:34 pm ICT by admin  

Harbhajan Singh

Chennai, Mar 26 (ANI): Cricket fans and enthusiasts today said they were looking forward to an entertaining contest at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium here between South Africa and India.
South African skipper Graeme Smith won the toss and elected to bat against India. After 69 overs, South Africa had scored 255 runs for three wickets with Ashwell Prince and Hashim Amla at the crease.
Openers, McKenzie and Smith scored 94 and 73 respectively before their 132-run partnership was broken. Off-spinner Harbhajan Singh claimed
two of the three wickets to fall. Skipper Anil Kumble claimed the third wicket.
India recalled paceman Shanthakumaran Sreesanth to the side because of an injury to teenager Ishant Sharma. South African left-arm spinner
Paul Harris was drafted into his side as the only change from the team that played in their previous test in Bangladesh this month, where they swept the series 2-0.
While the first Test is being played in Chennai from March 26 to 30, the second Test will be played in Ahmedabad from April 3 to 7 and third Test match in Kanpur from April 11 to 15.
Fans said they were confident about Indias chances of winning the Test.
I am sure that India is going to win and India will win. Since their comeback from the Twenty-20, they are really in great form. India is going to win. Come on India,” said Shekhar, a cricket fan.
“We are back to the Chepauk Stadium here. Whether it is India or South Africano doubt who is going to win, its India, India and India and that’s it,” said Mavia, another cricket enthusiast.
India aims to cash in on their traditional home advantage after their strong showing in Australia, where they climbed to second in the Test rankings despite losing the series 2-1 against the champions.
The Indian squad for the Test include Anil Kumble (Captain), Wasim Jaffer, Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, VVS Laxman, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicket-keeper), Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Murali Kartik, Sreesanth, RP Singh, Piyush Chawla (back-up).
South African squad include Graeme Smith (Captain), Ashwell Prince (Vice-captain), Hashim Amla, Mark Boucher (wicket-keeper), AB de Villiers, Jean-Paul Duminy, Paul Harris, Jacques Kallis, Neil McKenzie, Morne Morkel, Makhaya Ntini, Robin Peterson, Dale Steyn, Monde Zondeki. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in World |