Advani, Sethi, Rupesh begin Asian billiards campaign

April 5th, 2008 - 9:55 pm ICT by admin  

Yangon, April 5 (Xinhua) The 7th Asian Billiards and 9th Under-21 Asian Snooker Championships, with 55 players including India’s Geet Sethi, Pankaj Advani and Rupesh Shah, started here Saturday. The defending champions and four other former world billiards champions from 14 countries are in the fray in the eight-day competition being played at Kandawgyi Palace Hotel.

The opening ceremony of the championships, the second of its kind hosted by Myanmar, was attended by Myanmar Sports Minister and Myanmar Olympic Committee chairman Brigadier-General Thura Aye Myint and Asian Confederation of Billiards Sports secretary general Syed Mahboob.

The competing cueists include 25 billiards exponents and 30 snooker players from 14 countries - China, India, Iraq, Iran, Malaysia, host Myanmar, Pakistan, Qatar, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Thailand, the United Arab Emirates and Vietnam. They will take part in the continental championships that end Saturday.

Five billiards players from Myanmar, three players each from India and Singapore and two each from Iran, South Korea, Malaysia, Qatar, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Vietnam will compete in the Asian Billiards Championship.

Five snooker players from Myanmar, three each from China, India, Iran, Pakistan and Thailand and two each from Iraq, South Korea, Qatar, Malaysia and the UAE will take part in the 9th Under-21 Asian Snooker Championship.

The Myanmar billiards players are Kyaw Oo, Aung Htay, Aung San Oo, Nay Thway Oo and Min Si Thu Tun.

Kyaw Oo, who is Myanmar’s top billiard player, grabbed the billiards doubles title, partnering compatriot Aung San Oo, at the 24th Southeast Asian Games in Thailand in December last year.

Aung San Oo triumphed in the 2006 Asian Billiards Championship and Aung Htay was last year’s Asian billiards bronze medallist.

Myanmar’s major opponents will be competitors from India, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam as they have some world class players - Peter Gilchrist (Singapore), Sethi and Advani, Praprut Chaithanasakun (Thailand) and Nguyen Thanh Binh (Vietnam) - who have won world titles in recent years.

India appears to be the toughest opponent, said Kyaw Oo last month, adding that “we are used to competing with them and I believe we can achieve some good results at the tournament”.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in World |