17 Asian countries discuss nuclear pact

April 9th, 2008 - 5:09 pm ICT by admin  

Hanoi (Vietnam), April 9 (Xinhua) Representatives of 17 Asian countries including India are reviewing here the implementation of the Regional Cooperative Agreement (RCA) on nuclear science, a report said Wednesday. The agreement for research, development and training, related to the nuclear science and technology for Asia and the Pacific, was signed in 1972. Vietnam signed the pact in 1981.

Other countries to sign the pact are Australia, Bangladesh, China, Indonesia, South Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, New Zealand, Pakistan, the Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka and Thailand.

The representatives at the meeting April 8-10 will discuss food safety, nutrition, healthcare, industrial development, nuclear safety and environmental protection, Vietnam News reported.

Cooperation between the RCA and Vietnam is important to raise the country’s scientific and nuclear technology capacity, the report said.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in World |