14 teams to play in shorter 2011 cricket World Cup

March 18th, 2008 - 11:39 pm ICT by admin  

Dubai, March 18 (IANS) Fourteen teams will participate in the 2011 cricket World Cup to be co-hosted by India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. “The ICC (International Cricket Council) has decided to significantly shorten the 2011 World Cup to be held in India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka,” ICC president-elect David Morgan said at a press conference here Tuesday after the conclusion of the body’s executive board meeting.

The ICC decision comes in the wake of wide criticism of the 2007 World Cup in the West Indies for its inordinately long schedule.

As many as 16 teams played in the tournament in 51 matches from March 13 to April 28 last year with Australia retaining the title for the third consecutive time.

Morgan said the 2011 tournament would have the 10 full members of the ICC and four teams from the qualifiers.

“The 10 full members will automatically qualify for the tournament. The semi-finalists of the ICC World Cup qualifiers to be held in Dubai in 2009 will be the other four qualifiers,” he said.

Asked what would be the length of the tournament, he said that would be decided later by the ICC.

This was among the various decisions taken by the ICC executive board in its two-day meeting here.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in World |