Vishnu, Jehan win in National Rotax Max Karting

August 7th, 2011 - 7:19 pm ICT by IANS  

Hyderabad, Aug 7 (IANS) Vishnu Prasad (Senior Max) and Jehan Daruvala (Junior Max) recorded their first win of the season while little Kush Maini (Micro Max) extended his dominance as the fourth round of the JK Tyre-FMSCI National Rotax Max Karting Championship concluded amidst high quality action here Sunday.

The 17-year-old Prasad (Meco Racing) from Chennai enjoyed a profitable weekend as he fought off hectic challenge from Ameya Bafna (Rayo Racing), winner of the third round in Coimbatore last month, and championship leader Chittesh Mandody (Mohite’s Racing) for a satisfying win.

After disappointing performances in the previous rounds, Prasad finally got his package spot-on as he made significant progress in the championship standings, moving from seventh to fourth while Mandody, despite a third place finish here, retained his top spot.

“Everything went right for me this weekend. I was happy with my kart and had the pace to be in front. The final was very close, but I managed to stay in front. It feels great to win my first race of the season after some disappointments in the previous rounds,” said Prasad.

Meanwhile, the Junior Max Pre-Final and Final witnessed hectic action with few karts coming together. The Pre-Final was red-flagged after four laps and re-started, but 12-year-old Daruvala from Mumbai kept his focus to clinch his first win of the season.

“I was focused on a good start which I managed. Thereafter, I was determined to put in consistent laps and pulled away. In the previous three rounds, Arjun Maini got the better of me, but this time, I finished in front and I am very happy,” said Daruvala who now leads his class with 344 points to Maini’s 323.

Maini, winner of the three previous races, had a wretched weekend. He was involved in a collision in the Pre-Final, but starting the Final from 10th position, the 13-year-old Bangalorean carved his way to finish third.

The other Maini sibling, Kush, drove his own race in the Micro Max class which he dominated from start to finish and posted his fourth consecutive win in the championship this season.

“The track was a bit slippery and I almost crashed, but after I settled down, I opened up a good lead and won,” said Maini behind whom there was a massive battle for the other podium spots that went to Abhirath Shetty (Meco Racing) who was second ahead of Kevin Lazarus (Mohite’s Racing) in a tight finish.

The results:

Micro Max - Final (15 laps): Kush Maini (Maini Racing) 1 (11mins, 48.825secs); Abhirath Shetty (Meco Racing) 2 (12:05.897); Kavin Lazarus (Mohite’s Racing) 3 (12:06.148). Pre-Final (12 laps): Kush Maini (Maini Racing) 1 (09:26.070); Paneesh HB (Mohite’s Racing) 2 (09:39.514); Abhirath Shetty (Meco Racing) 3 (09:39.706).

Junior Max - Final (20 laps): Jehan Daruvala (Rayo Racing) 1 (14:11.565); Krishnaraj Mahadik (Mohite’s Racing) 2 (14:16.130); Arjun Maini (Raini Racing) 3 (14:20.720). Pre-Final (18 laps): Jehan Daruvala (Rayo Racing) 1 (13:09.359); Krisnaraj D Mahadik (Meco Racing) 2 (13:16.168); Dhruv Shivaji Mohite (Mohite’s Racing) 2 (13:17.223).

Senior Max - Final (22 laps): Vishnu Prasad (Meco Racing) 1 (15:34.534); Ameya Bafna (Rayo Racing) 2 (15:38.038); Chittesh Mandody (Mohite’s Racing) 3 (15:44.922). Pre-Final (20 laps): Vishnu Prasad (Meco Racing) 1 (14:17.436); Ameya Bafna (Rayo Racing) 2 (14:19.706); Chittesh Mandody (Mohite’s Racing) 3 (14:23.661).

Championship standings (after 4 rounds, top 3):

Micro Max: Kush Maini 1 (222.5 points); Pradhymna Danigond 2 (201); Akash Gowda 3 (200).

Junior Max: Jehan Daruvala 1 (344); Arjun Maini 2 (323); Krishnaraj Mahadik 3 (320).

Senior Max: Chittesh Mandody 1 (342); A Sandeep Kumar 2 (312); Raj Ganatra 3 (308).

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |