Two Lok Sabha MPs disqualified for defecting

September 12th, 2008 - 11:42 pm ICT by IANS  

Somnath ChatterjeeNew Delhi, Sep 12 (IANS) Lok Sabha Speaker Somnath Chatterjee has disqualified MPs Kuldeep Bishnoi and Jai Prakash for defecting from the parties on whose symbols they were elected, it was announced here Friday.”According to the orders dated September 10 and 11, Kuldeep Bishnoi (Congress MP from Bhiwani in Haryana) and Jai Prakash (Samajwadi party MP from Mohanlalganj in Uttar Pradesh) were disqualified from the membership of house for violating the party whip,” a statement from Chatterjee’s office said.

The two MP had voted against the United Progressive Alliance government in the July 22 trust vote in parliament.

Bishnoi is former Haryana chief minister Bhajan Lal’s son and was suspended from the Congress after he floated his own political outfit, the Haryana Janhit Congress, last December.

The father-son duo had been upset with the Congress leadership since the time Bhajan Lal was denied the Haryana chief minister’s post after having led the party to one of its biggest victories in the 2005 assembly polls.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |