Tripura Left Front announces candidates for polls

March 3rd, 2009 - 7:58 pm ICT by IANS  

Agartala, March 3 (IANS) The ruling Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) led Left Front in Tripura Tuesday renominated the two sitting Lok Sabha MPs to contest the April 23 parliamentary elections.
“Khagen Das and Bajuban Reang, both CPI-M central committee members, would contest from the west Tripura and east Tripura (ST) Lok Sabha constituencies respectively,” said Bijon Dhar, CPI-M state secretary.

Veteran tribal leader Bajuban Reang has contested the Lok Sabha elections from the east Tripura (reserved for tribals) seat nine times since 1980 and won on seven occasions.

Former Tripura health minister Khagen Das had successfully fought the Lok Sabha polls in 2002 (by-election) and 2004.

The main opposition Congress has also started the process of selecting party nominees for the state’s two Lok Sabha seats.

“There are seven Congress aspirants for the west Tripura seat and four contenders for the east Tripura constituency,” Congress spokesperson Tapas Dey said.

“The Tripura Pradesh Congress Committee headed by former chief minister Samir Ranjan Burman has requested the central leaders to choose the state’s candidates.”

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has announced that it would contest both the Lok Sabha seats.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |