Three Madhya Pradesh towns get status of ‘holy towns’

February 11th, 2009 - 5:20 pm ICT by IANS  

Bharatiya Janata PartyBhopal, Feb 11 (IANS) Three more towns in Madhya Pradesh, Maihar, Chitrakut and Salkanpur have been declared ‘holy towns’ - a status that prohibits the sale of liquor, meat and eggs there, official sources said Wednesday.
The decision was taken at a cabinet meeting here chaired by Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan late Tuesday evening.

“All the three are famous religious places that attract devotees in thousands”, said an official.

Since the Bharatiya Janata Party came to power in 2003, Ujjain, Omkareshwar, Multai, Maheshwar and Panna have been declared as holy towns.

The status would enable the general administration department to constitute development councils for these places and the department of culture would identify ancient temples, register them and would make arrangements for their maintenance and safety.

Land at concessional rates would be allotted for building of guest houses for the devotees and the tourists.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |