Three candidates in Pakistan’s presidential race

August 30th, 2008 - 6:14 pm ICT by IANS  

Islamabad, Aug 30 (Xinhua) Pakistan’s Election Commission Saturday issued the final list of three candidates for the country’s presidential election. The candidates are Asif Ali Zardari, the widower of assassinated former prime minister Benazir Bhutto, Saeed-uz-Zaman Siddiqui, former chief justice of the Supreme Court and Mushahid Hussain Syed, chairman of the Foreign Relations Committee in the senate.

Zardari has been fielded by the Pakistan Peoples Party, Saeed-uz-Zaman Siddiqui by the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz of former prime minister Nawaz Sharif and Mushahid Hussain Syed by Pakistan Muslim League (Quaid-e-Azam).

Polling will be held Sep 6 in the senate and the national assembly (lower house) in Islamabad and in four provincial assemblies.

Members of the senate or the upper house of Pakistan’s parliament, national assembly or the lower house and those of four provincial assemblies will cast their votes in the presidential elections.

Pakistan held its last presidential election Oct 9, 2007 and Pervez Musharraf was re-elected.

The new presidential election was announced after Musharraf’s resignation Aug 18.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |