South Sudan to open embassies in 21 countries

June 19th, 2011 - 9:55 am ICT by IANS  

Khartoum, June 19 (IANS/RIA Novosti) South Sudan plans to open its embassies in 21 countries after it officially gains independence in July, an official said.

The list of countries where it plans to open diplomatic missions includes Italy, France, Germany, Britain, the US and Israel.

The new country, however, has not yet announced plans to open embassies in Russia and China.

South Sudan has been formally seeking independence since it concluded a peace deal with the north in 2005, ending two decades of civil war in the impoverished northeast African nation. In February, the region voted to become a separate state.

South Sudan will officially become Africa’s 53rd state July 9.

–IANS/RIA Novosti

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |