Six new universities to come up in Andhra Pradesh

June 12th, 2008 - 11:55 am ICT by IANS  

Hyderabad, June 11 (IANS) Andhra Pradesh Wednesday decided to set up six new universities in a bid to boost higher education in the state. The state government approved the setting up of universities in Karimnagar, Mahbubnagar, Srikakulam, Machhilipatnam, Potti Sriramulu Nellore and Kurnool.

A decision to this effect was taken at a high-level meeting presided over by Chief Minister Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy.

State Technical Education Minister Chenga Reddy told reporters that the new universities would be set up soon. He said 19 new degree colleges, eight junior colleges and eight polytechnics would also be established in the state.

He added that an education complex would also come up in Hyderabad to provide training to college teachers.

Among the new universities, three are coming up in coastal Andhra, two in Telangana and one in Rayalseema region.

The state government set up a university each in three regions in 2006 in addition to the existing three universities. In October 2006, it also announced the setting up of another university in the Telangana region.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |