Six in race for four Rajya Sabha seats in Kashmir

February 3rd, 2009 - 6:12 pm ICT by IANS  

Bharatiya Janata PartyJammu, Feb 3 (IANS) Former chief ministers Farooq Abdullah (National Conference) and Ghulam Nabi Azad and union Water Resources Minister Saifuddin Soz (both Congress) were among the five candidates who Tuesday filed their nominations for four Rajya Sabha seats from Jammu and Kashmir.The others who filed nominations Tuesday - the last date for filing nominations - were Mohammad Shafi Uri of the National Conference (NC) and A.V. Gupta of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)’s Altaf Bukhari filed his nomination papers Monday.

The polling will be held Feb 13.

The ruling coalition has fielded candidates for all the four seats, though it can win only three because of the three separate notifications for polls - one each for two seats and a third for the two remaining seats.

The NC-Congress alliance has support of 48 members including two nominated women members and two other legislators - Ghulam Hassan Mir of the Jammu and Kashmir Democratic Party and Hakeem Mohammad Yasin of the Peoples Democratic Front.

The PDP has 21 members and support of two Independent legislators taking its number to 23, while the BJP has an effective strength of 11. However, the BJP candidate is expected to get the support of the four other legislators - three of Jammu and Kashmir National Panthers Party and one of Jammu State Morcha.

There will be a contest for the fourth seat and given the combination and strength of parties, the PDP candidate stands to benefit.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |