Shibu Soren, 11 Jharkhand lawmakers sworn in (Lead)

August 27th, 2008 - 7:26 pm ICT by IANS  

Ranchi, Aug 27 (IANS) Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) chief Shibu Soren was sworn in Wednesday afternoon as the state’s sixth chief minister. Governor Syed Sibte Razi administered the oath of office to Soren and 11 lawmakers, who were made ministers, at a ceremony held at Morabadi ground here.Of the 11 ministers, three JMM legislators who were administered oath as ministers were Sudhir Mahto, Nalin Soren and Dulal Bhuiya. All three were ministers in the Madhu Koda cabinet.

The remaining eight ministers are Bhanu Pratap Sahi and Aparna Sen Gupta of Forward Bloc (FB), Bandhu Tirkey and Jhobha Manjhi of United Goans Democratic Party (UGDP), Kamlesh Singh of Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), and independent legislators Stephen Marandi, Enos Ekka and Harinarayan Rai.

Except Aparna Sen Gupta, all the ten ministers were part of the Madhu Koda government.

The swearing in ceremony was attended by former chief minister Madhu Koda and central minister Subodh Kant Sahay. Over 3,000 people attended the ceremony.

JMM withdrew support from the Madhu Koda government Aug 17. Koda resigned Saturday after getting direction from the central United Progressive Alliance (UPA) leaders.

Shibu Soren staked claim Monday to form the government with the support of 42 legislators. The Congress and RJD are supporting the government from outside.

The Jharkhand governor has asked Soren to prove his majority by Sep 1.

“Development of the people of the state is my priority. I will take the development to the last person of the state,” Soren told reporters.

Soren also sent a positive signal to industrialists. He invited the Tatas to set up the Nano car factory in Jharkhand.

“Tata is Jharkhandi and we invite Tata motors to set up the Nano car factory in Jharkhand,” he said.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |