Seeds fall in second round of Chennai ITF

September 10th, 2008 - 9:38 pm ICT by IANS  

Chennai, Sep 10 (IANS) Seventh seed Mansingh Athare went down to compatriot Vishwajit Tirumurthi, 6-7(5), 4-6 on a day when seeds tumbled in boy’s singles’ pre-quarter final round of India Cements ITF Junior boys and girls tennis championship here Wednesday.Unseeded Genki Hosoya of Japan upset 11th seed Indian Rohit Bisht 6-0, 6-7 (5), 6-0, to enter the quarterfinals. Vinod Gowda overcame 12th seed Alla Srikar 7-6(3),7-5 while J. Mohith Mayur swept aside 10th seed Jugal Marfatia 7-5, 6-2.

In the girl’s singles, seeded players had it easy with top billing Aishwarya Agarwal cruising to the quarter finals with a 6-0, 2-6, 6-0 win over Zainab Ali Sajjad while second seed Sharmada Balu pounding Kaur Jaanesh (IND) 6-0, 6-1.

Third seed Prerna Bhambri beat P. Sindhu Nila 6-3, 7-6(4).

The results:

Boys singles (2nd round): (5) Raman Rishab Dev (IND) beat Siddharth Sivakumar(IND) 6-2, 6-3; (8) Saurabh Singh (IND) beat Dineshkantha Thangarajah (SRI) 6-2,6-2; (4) Rajput Shantanu (IND) beat S. Kamal (IND) 6-1,6-1; (13) Shahbaaz Khan (IND) beat Ramkumar Ramathan (IND) 6-4,6-2; (9) Nihal Kapoor (IND) beat Elwin Antony (IND) 2-6,7-6(7),6-1; (16) Vedant Kapoor (IND) beat Kaushal Mehta (IND) 6-4, 6-0; (14) N. Sai Kartik (IND) beat Chetan Panditi (IND) 6-1,6-2; Vinod Gowda (IND) beat (12) Alla Srikar (IND) 7-6(3),7-5; Vishwajit Tirumurti (IND) beat (7) Mansingh Athare (IND) 7-6(5),6-4; J. Mohith Mayur (IND) beat (10) Jugal Marfatia (IND) 7-5,6-2; (3) A. Muddappa (IND) beat Irfan Hussain (IND) 7-6(3),6-2; (6) Sumeet Shinde (IND) beat Prosenjit Paul (IND) 6-1,7-6(3); Genki Hosoya (JPN) beat (11) Rohit Bisht (IND) 6-0, 6-7(5), 6-0; (2) S.V. Abhishek (IND) beat Shikar Kapur (IND) 6-3,7-6(5).

Girls singles: (1) Aishwarya Agarwal (IND) beat Zainab Ali Sajjad (IND) 6-0,2-6,6-0; (9) V. Archana (IND) beat Shraddha Dali (IND) 6-0,6-1; (16) T. Neesha (MAS) beat Ankita Bhatia (IND) 3-6,7-5,6-2; (6) Sanjana Sharon Paul (IND) beat Prarthana Thombare (IND) 5-7,6-2,6-3; (4) Garima Vatwani (IND) beat Elli Share (GBR) 6-3,6-3; (14) Nova Patel (IND) beat WC Preethi Srinivasan (IND) 6-4,6-4; Adnya Naik (IND) beat (12) B. Sowjanya (IND)6-4,7-6(5); Natasha Palha (IND) beat (8) Sayali Bhilare (IND) 6-1,6-2; Nimisha Mohan (IND) beat (10) Riddhi Hegde (IND) 6-2,6-1; (7) Vaniya Dangwal (IND) beat R. Bhavani (IND) 6-1,5-1 (concd.); (3) Prerna Bhambri (IND) beat P. Sindhu Nila (IND) 6-3,7-6(4); (11) U.M. Shalaka (IND) beat Manuela Gomes (IND) 7-5, 6-0; Smriti Joon (IND) beat (13) Nidhi Chiilumula (IND) 7-5,6-3; Arushi Sharma (IND) beat (5) Susita Das (IND) 7-5,6-4; (2) Sharmada Balu (IND) beat Kaur Jaanesh (IND) 6-0,6-1; Vaidehi Bhagvat (IND) beat (15) Sushma Gutta (IND) 6-4,6-4.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |