Saina leads BPCL to win over ONGC

January 22nd, 2009 - 10:42 pm ICT by IANS  

Pune, Jan 22 (IANS) World No. 10 Saina Nehwal scored a 21-10, 21-14 win over Ruth Misha to lead Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited to a 3-0 win over ONGC in a league match of the PSPB Inter Unit Badminton Championships here Thursday.In the men’s team championship, hosts BPCL outplayed Oil India Limited (OIL) 3-0 to finish third on the second day of teh tournament.

Chetan Anand of ONGC and Arvind Bhat of BPCL have been given the top two seeds for the men’s singles events. Trupti Murgunde and Gayatri Vartak will be top two seeds in the women’s singles events.

Men’s (Third Place)
BPCL bt OIL 3-0
Aditya Prakash bt SDS Krishna 21-14, 21-15
Arvind Bhat bt Anshuman Hazarika 22-20, 21-15
Anup Shridhar/Arvind Bhat bt SDS Krishna/Anshuman Hazarika 21-17, 21-17

Veteran’s Team ( 3rd Place)
HPCL bt OIL 2-0
B. Gurang b Anshuman Hazarika 21-9, 21-16
Shrikant Ramdase/B. Gurung bt A. Chinta Nath/P.P Barua 21-17, 21-14

Women’s Team events (Round Robin)
BPCL bt ONGC 3-0
Saina Nehwal bt Ruth Misha 21-10, 21-14
Jwala Gutta bt Ashwini Ponappa 21-18, 13-21, 22-20
Jwala Gutta/Shruti Kurian bt AshwiniPonaapa/Nitya Sosale 21-13, 21-17

IOC bt ONGC 2-1
Trupti Murgunde bt Rut Misha 17-21, 21-7, 22-20
Gayatri Vartak lost to Ashwini Ponaapa 12-21, 21-23
B.R.Meenakshi/Aparna Balan bt Ashwini Ponnappa/Nitya Sosale 20-2, 21-18, 21-15

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |