Rebel TDP legislators begin fast for unity on Telangana

July 3rd, 2011 - 2:38 pm ICT by IANS  

Telangana Hyderabad, July 3 (IANS) Four rebel legislators of Telugu Desam Party (TDP) from the Telangana region Sunday began a two-day fast for unity among parties and leaders fighting for a separate Telangana state.

A day before MPs, state ministers and legislators of the Congress party and legislators of TDP are scheduled to submit their resignations, TDP legislators launched their hunger strike at Indira Park here.

Led by senior leader N. Janardhan Reddy, who was suspended from TDP in May, the legislators called upon all Telangana leaders to keep aside their party flags and agenda to unitedly fight for a separate state. They also plan to send their resignations to assembly speaker N. Manohar from the hunger strike camp later in the day.

The other legislators on fast are Harishwar Reddy, Venugopala Chary and Jogu Ramanna.

Prominent figure of the Telangana movement Konda Laxman Bapuji inaugurated the hunger strike camp as leaders cutting across party lines gathered there to express their solidarity.

They included Telangana Joint Action Committee (JAC) chairman M. Kodandaram, Telangana Praja Front leader Gaddar, Congress leaders Yadav Reddy, K.R. Amos and revolutionary singer Vimalakka.

Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) has also extended its support to the fast by TDP legislators.

Janardhan Reddy, a former state minister, was suspended from TDP after he criticized party chief N. Chandrababu Naidu for not taking a clear stand in support of Telangana.

He along with other legislators have been carrying on the movement for a separate state without the party flag.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |