Ranji Trophy: Kanitkar’s ton against Mumbai; Baroda dismiss MP for 63

November 10th, 2011 - 10:37 pm ICT by IANS  

New Delhi, Nov 10 (IANS) Defending champions Rajasthan put up a strong show against Mumbai on the opening day of the second round of Ranji Trophy Elite division Thursday while last year’s runners-up Baroda bowled out Madhya Pradesh for a paltry 63 to take a sizable first innings lead.

Rajasthan ended day one at 309 for four after electing to bat in a highly anticipated match at Mumbai’s Brabourne Stadium. Skipper Hrishikesh Kanitkar led from the front as he remained unbeaten on 129 at stumps with valuable contributions coming from Vineet Saxena (53) and Rashmi Parida (67). Medium-pacer Dhawal Kulkarni picked up two wickets for Mumbai.

The match is billed as a revenge game for the hosts after they were knocked out by Rajasthan in the quarterfinal stage last season.

In another Group B match, Baroda took a 144-run lead after bowling out Madhya Pradesh for 63 at Vadodara’s Moti Bagh Stadium. Medium pacers Firdaush Bhaja (4-19) and Irfan Pathan (3-23) did the bulk of the damage in the Madhya Pradesh innings after Baroda captain Pinal Shah chose to field in seaming conditions. The home team in reply were 207 for four with Aditya Waghmode missing out on a hundred by one run. Ambati Rayudu was batting at 80.

At Chepauk, Haryana, courtesy a fighting 95 by Priyank Tehlan, survived a middle-order collapse and recovered to 264 for seven in a Group B game against Tamil Nadu.

Openers Nitin Saini (43) and Rahul Dewan (22) provided a solid start for Haryana, who won the toss and opted to bat first, by putting on 48 runs.

However, home team skipper and new ball bowler Lakshmipathy Balaji triggered a collapse by taking three wickets in just 11 deliveries just before lunch as Haryana crashed from 83/1 to 90/5

Tehlan and Prateek Pawar (23) added 81 runs for the sixth wicket to retrieve the position. Thereafter, Tehlan and skipper Amit Mishra (31 batting) put on 66 runs for the seventh wicket as Haryana ended the day on a satisfying note.

Elite Division scores:

Group A:

At Mumbai: Rajasthan 309 for four in 89. 3 overs (Hrishikisesh Kanitkar 129 batting, Rashmi Parida 67, Dheeraj Kulkarni 2 for 61) vs. Mumbai.

At Mohali: Orissa 246 for 9 in 83 overs (Basant Mohanty 58 batting, Subhrajit Sahu 56, Sandeep Sharma four for 52, Braider Sran 3 for 62) vs Punjab.

At Meerut: Uttar Pradesh 266 for 4 in 90 overs (Tanmay Srivastava 134 batting, Parvinder Singh 47, Sandip Maniar 3 for 53) vs. Saurashtra.

Group B:

At Baroda: Madhya Pradesh 63 in 27.3 overs(Irfan Pathan 3 for 25, Firdaush Bhaja 4 for 19, Murtuja Vahora 2 for 16), Baroda 207 for 4 in 55 overs (Aditya Waghmode 99, Ambati Rayudu 80 batting, TP Sudhindra 2 for 58, Anand Rajan 2 for 55).

At Valsad: Gujarat 358 for six in 90 overs (Parthiv Patel 100, Niraj Patel 111 batting, Vikas Mishra four for 67) vs. Delhi.

At Chepauk: Haryana 264 for 7 in 90 overs (Priyank Tehlan 35, Nitin Saini 43, Laxmipath Balaji 3 for 34, Sunny Gupta 2 for 50, Aushik Srinivas 2 for 56) vs. Tamil Nadu.

Plate Division:

Group A:

At Vijaywada: Andhra 235 all out in 61.5 overs (Gonnabattula Chiranjeevi 52, Syed Sahabuddin 38; Manisankar Murasingh 5-74) vs Tripura 34/2 in 25 overs (Kaushal Acharjee 34 batting, T. Atchuti Rao 2-26)

At Dharamsala: Himachal Pradesh 195 all out in 58.1 overs (Abhinav Bali 52, Varun Sharma 43; Amol Jungade 5-67, Sandeep Singh 4-50) vs Vidarbha 40/2 in 12 overs (Akshay Kolhar 13, SS Das 19).

At Kochi: Services 198 for five in 90 overs (RS Paliwal 73, Yashpal Singh batting 36; PR Prem 2-18) vs Kerala

Group B:

At Guwahati: Assam 195 all out in 82 overs (Dheeraj Jadhav 73, Gokul Sharma 42; Amit Yadav 3-47, Sher Yadav 2-28) vs Goa 10/2 in six overs.

At Hyderabad: Hyderabad 124 all out in 53 overs (Hanuman Vihari 38, Akshya Darekar 5-48, Samad Fallah 2-23); Maharashtra 63/4 in 35 overs (Sangram Atitkar 29 batting; Lalith Mohan 2-28)

At Srinagar: Jammu and Kashmir: 59 for no loss (Adil Rishi 36 batting, Ian Dev Singh 19 batting) vs Jharkhand.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |