Rajya Sabha bids farewell to six members

August 18th, 2011 - 3:44 pm ICT by IANS  

Bharatiya Janata Party New Delhi, Aug 18 (IANS) Rajya Sabha Chairman M. Hamid Ansari welcomed re-elected MPs Sitaram Yechury and Ahmed Patel and some new members to the house which bid farewell to six others as their terms ended Thursday.

Among those whose terms ended were Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) MP Brinda Karat, Mohammed Amin, Abani Roy of the Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) and Trinamool Congress MP Swapan Sadhan Bose - all from West Bengal.

From Gujarat, two Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MPs, Surendra Motilal Patel and Pravin Naik were bid farewell.

After a poor performance in the recent assembly elections in West Bengal, the CPI(M) had to let go two of its MPs, with only Sitaram Yechury being re-elected. Ally RSP is also down by one member.

Trinamool Congress, on the other hand, will see a rise in its strength by three members. Famous quiz master Derek O’Brien, Debabrata Bandopadhyay, Srinjoy Bose and Sukhendu Shekhar Roy have been elected from Trinamool, while Pradeep Bhattacharjee has been elected from the Congress.

From Gujarat, while Ahmed Patel of the Congress has been re-elected, BJP nominees television actor-turned-politician Smriti Irani and Dileep Pandey have been elected to the upper house.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |