Rajendra Arlekar elected Goa assembly Speaker (Lead)

March 19th, 2012 - 5:01 pm ICT by IANS  

Bharatiya Janata Party Panaji, March 19 (IANS) Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) legislator Rajendra Arlekar was Monday elected unopposed as the speaker of Goa’s 12th legislative assembly.

Arlekar, elected in the March 3 polls from the Pernem constituency in North Goa — the only constituency in Goa reserved for Scheduled Castes, was the only legislator whose name was proposed for the post in the 40-member house.

The election was held on the opening day of the three-day budget session which got underway Monday. Arlekar was administered the oath of office by pro tem speaker Mahadev Naik.

Speaking to reporters after being elected, Speaker Arlekar said educating the legislators and maintaining discipline in the assembly would be his priority. “There are a lot of newcomers in this House. We will try to make sure they will be trained to become good legislators and lawmakers,” Arlekar said.

The Congress has named former chief minister Pratapsing Rane as leader of opposition.

The 40-member Goa legislative assembly has 21 BJP legislators, while the opposition comprises of the nine-member Congress. Two regional parties, the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (three legislators) and the Goa Vikas party (two legislators), and five independents have backed the ruling BJP.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |