Prominent winners and losers of Jammu and Kashmir elections

December 28th, 2008 - 9:29 pm ICT by IANS  

Srinagar/Jammu, Dec 28 (IANS) Three former chief ministers - Farooq Abdullah, Mufti Mohammed Sayeed and Ghulam Nabi Azad - Sunday won the Jammu and Kashmir assembly elections while many former ministers joined the ranks of the losers.The following are the prominent winners:

· National Conference patron Farooq Abdullah won from both Hazratbal and Sonawar in Srinagar.

· Omar Abdullah won from Ganderbal in north Kashmir. He defeated Qazi Afzal of the Peoples Democratic Party, who had humiliated Omar in the 2002 elections.

· Ghulam Nabi Azad retained his Bhaderwah seat in the Muslim-majority mountainous area of Doda, which falls under Jammu region.

· Chaman Lal Gupta, a former defence minister, of the BJP won from Jammu West

· Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) patron Mufti Sayeed, a former Indian home minister, won Anantnag seat in south Kashmir

· PDP chief Mehbooba Mufti won from Wachi, also in south Kashmir.

· Mohammed Yusuf Tarigami of the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) retained his seat in Kulgam in south Kashmir

· Former deputy chief minister and senior PDP leader Muzaffar Hussain Baig won from Baramulla

Among prominent losers were:

· Mangat Ram Sharma of the Congress, a former deputy chief minister, lost from Jammu West

· Jugal Kishore of the Congress, a former education minister, lost to a BJP candidate from Reasi in Jammu

· Former agriculture minister and senior PDP leader Abdul Aziz Zargar lost from Noorabad in south Kashmir to Sakina Itoo of the National Conference

· Former finance minister Tariq Hameed Kara of the PDP lost from Batmaloo in Srinagar seat to National Conference candidate Irfan Shah.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |