Prominent candidates in Punjab assembly polls

January 28th, 2012 - 6:53 pm ICT by IANS  

Bharatiya Janata Party Chandigarh, Jan 28 (IANS) The following are the main candidates from various political parties in the fray for the Jan 30 elections to 117 assembly seats in Punjab:

Total Seats: 117

Date of poll: Jan 30

Counting of votes: March 6

Main parties:

1. Shiromani Akali Dal-Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) (Ruling alliance)

2. Congress (main opposition)

3. People’s Party of Punjab (PPP) (The PPP has formed the Sanjha Morcha with the CPI, CPI-M and Akali Dal (Longowal).

Prominent candidates and constituencies:

1. Parkash Singh Badal (chief minister), Akali Dal - Lambi (Muktsar district)

2. Gurdas Badal, PPP - Lambi

3. Amarinder Singh, (Punjab Congress president) - Patiala urban

4. Sukhbir Singh Badal (Deputy CM and Akali Dal president) - Jalalabad

5. Manpreet Badal (PPP president) - Gidderbaha and Maur (Two constituencies)

6. Rajinder Kaur Bhattal (former CM), Congress - Lehragaga

7. Ashwani Sharma (Punjab BJP president) - Pathankot

8. Navjot Kaur Sidhu (BJP MP Navjot Sidhu’s wife), BJP - Amritsar east

9. Raninder Singh (Amarinder Singh and Preneet Kaur’s son), Congress - Samana

10. P.S. Gill (former DGP), Akali Dal - Moga

11. Darbara Singh Guru (ex-principal secretary to CM), Akali Dal - Bhadaur (reserved)

12. Bhagwant Mann (Comedian, actor), PPP - Lehragaga

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |