Presidential poll ends in Assam

July 19th, 2012 - 8:25 pm ICT by IANS  

Pranab Mukherjee Guwahati, July 19 (IANS) Voting for the presidential poll Thursday ended in Assam with almost all the members of the electoral college from the state casting their votes.

The voting started around 10 a.m. and continued till 5 p.m.

Out of the 126 members of the Assam legislative assembly, a total of 125 cast their votes.

All India United Democratic Front legislator Sahidul Alam Choudhury could not take part in the voting as he is out of the state for medical reasons.

Rajya Sabha MP and state Congress chief Bhubneswar Kalita also cast his vote in the Assam legislative assembly.

Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi had claimed that a total of 111 members of the legislative assembly will cast their votes in favour of UPA’s candidate Pranab Mukherjee.

This included the 78 members of the Congress, the 12 member of its partner in the government Bodoland Peoples Front (BPF), 18 members of the AIUDF, two Independent members and one members of the Trinamool Congress (TMC).

Assam’s opposition party, Asom Gana Parishad (AGP), which has ten legislators and three MPs, had earlier decided to vote for the opposition-backed candidate Purno Agitok Sangma along with the BJP, which has only five legislators.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |