Pickpockets sentenced to ten years imprisonment

March 25th, 2009 - 11:11 pm ICT by IANS  

New Delhi, March 25 (IANS) A court here Wednesday sentenced seven pickpockets to 10 years rigorous imprisonment for committing dacoity in a running Blueline bus and causing the death of two men in 2002.
Additional Sessions Judge Dharmesh Sharma also expressed concern over the growing incidents of pickpocketing in the capital and said the punishment should be such that it acts as a deterrent.

“This court can take judicial cognisance of a public outcry against acts of pickpocketing, chain-snatching happening almost on daily basis in different parts of the national capital region.

“When reported, the police looks the other way for a variety of reasons such as lack of infrastructure, strenuous deployment in law and order,” the judge said, refusing to grant any leniency to the convicts.

The court also imposed a fine of Rs.100,000 on Khursheed, who stabbed the driver of the bus running between Daryaganj and Kashmere Gate here during the dacoity on Sep 1, 2002. The driver, however, survived.

Three others Satish, Yunus and Pappu Singh, who tried to snatch a bag containing Rs. 96,000 from two brothers - Sachin and Abhir Shinde - were also slapped a fine of Rs.75,000.

The brothers, on a business trip here from Maharashtra, had succumbed to injuries after falling from the running bus.

The gang-leader Charanjit Singh alias Dabbu, who followed the bus in an auto-rickshaw with Raj Kumar and Wahid were fined Rs.25,000, besides the prison term after being held guilty of dacoity.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |