Padma Vibhushan for philosopher Chattopadhyaya

January 26th, 2009 - 2:11 am ICT by IANS  

GovindaNew Delhi, Jan 26 (IANS) D.P. Chattopadhyaya, founding chairman of the Indian Council of Philosophical Research, has been honoured with the Padma Vibhushan, the second highest civilian honour, while management guru C.K. Prahlad, economist Isher Judge Ahluwalia and historian Ramachandra Guha are among the Padma Bhushan recepeints this year.Chattopadhyaya, currently chairman of the Centre for Studies in Civilisations, and general editor for the Project of History of Indian Science, Philosophy and Culture, has been one of the propounders of inter-disciplinary studies in the country with his wide knowledge on philosophy, political theory, economics, history and science.

According to an official announcement Sunday on the eve of the Republic Day, the Padma Bhushan awardees in the category of “literature and education” are:

Alappat Sreedhara Menon, C.K. Prahlad, D. Jayakanthan, Isher Judge Ahluwalia, Kunwar Narain, Minoru Hara, Ramachandra Guha.

The Padma Shri recepients in the “literature and education” category are:

A. Sankara Reddy, Alok Mehta, Bannanje Govindacharya, Birendranath Datta, Geshe Ngawang Samten, Jalees Ahmed Khan Tareen, Jayanta Mahapatra, John Ralston Marr, Lalthangfala Sailo, Laxman Bapu Mane, Mathoor Krishnamurty, Norden Tshering, Panchapakesa Jayaraman, Ram Shankar Tripathi, ranbir Chander Sobti, Ravindra Nath Srivastava, * Shamsur Rahman Faruqi, Shashi Deshpande, Sunny Varkey, Suresh Gundu Amonkar, Utpal K. Banerjee.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |