On Delhi’s edge, BSP holds sway (Lead)

March 6th, 2012 - 10:30 pm ICT by IANS  

Bahujan Samaj Party Ghaziabad (Uttar Pradesh), March 6 (IANS) The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) may have lost power in Uttar Pradesh but it kept in sway in areas bordering the national capital, winning six of the 11 assembly seats in the districts of Ghaziabad, Gautambudh Nagar and Panchsheel Nagar (Hapur).

Out of the rest, the Samajwadi Party and the Congress-Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) alliance won two each and one went to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

The BSP won four assembly seats in Ghaziabad while Ajit Singh’s RLD won one.

Announcing the results, Ghaziabad District Magistrate Aparna Upadhyay said the Sahibabad assembly seat was won by BSP’s Pandit Amar Pal Sharma, who defeated BJP’s Sunil Sharma by 24,348 votes.

In Loni, BSP’s Zakir Ali defeated Madan Bhaiya (Congress/RLD) by a margin of 25,348 votes, while in Ghaziabad city, the party’s Suresh Bansal defeated BJP’s Atul Garg by 12,121 votes and in Muradnagar, Wahab Chaudhary beat Rajpal Tyagi of Samajwadi Party by 3,625 votes.

In Modinagar assembly constituency, however, RLD’s Sudesh Sharma defeated BSP’s Master Rajpal Singh by 3,949 votes.

The Samajwadi Party won Dhaulana assembly constituency in adjoining Panchsheel Nagar, with its Dharmesh Tomar defeating BSP’s Aslam by the margin of 9,339 votes.

The Congress-RLD won the Hapur city assembly, with its Gajraj Singh defeating BSP’s Dharampal by a margin of 22,119 votes.

In Garh Mukteswar assembly seat Samajwadi Party candidate and sitting legislator Madan Chauhan defeated BSP’s Farhar Hasan by 18,199 votes.

The BSP won Jewar assembly seat of Gautambudh Nagar. Its candidate Vedram Bhati defeated Congress-RLD alliance candidate Thakur Dhirendra Singh by 9,500 votes.

BJP’s Dr. Mahesh Sharma won the Noida assembly seat, defeating BSP’s Om Dutt Sharma by 7,844 votes.

The BSP retained the Dadri assembly seat, with its Satvir Nagar defeating BJP’s Nawab Singh Nagar by a margin of 37,297 votes.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |