Modi to induct six parliamentary secretaries

March 1st, 2009 - 11:31 pm ICT by IANS  

Narendra ModiAhmedabad, March 1 (IANS) Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi will Monday expand his cabinet Monday by inducting six parliamentary secretaries.
The six to be sworn in as parliamentary secretaries are Lavjibhai Rajani (Mederda, Saurashtra), Yogesh Patel (Vadodara), Surendrasinh Chauhan (Mehandabad), Jayadrat Parmar (Halol), Harshad Vasava and Ishvarbhai Thakor (Rajpipla), sources in the Chief Minister’s Office (CMO) in Gandhinagar said.

Of the six, five are from central Gujarat and one from Saurashtra. The inclusion of the parliamentary secretaries is a pointer towards the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) taking a keen interest in central Gujarat where it wants a stronger presence before the Lok Sabha poll, the sources added.

With the induction of the parliamentary secretaries, the state cabinet will become three-tier and the number of ministers go up from 18 to 24.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |