Manmohan Singh leaves for G20 Summit in Seoul

November 10th, 2010 - 9:45 am ICT by IANS  

Manmohan Singh 1ap10


Dear all,

I leave at around 9 am Wednesday for the G20 Summit in Seoul. I am sending the following three stories - one to be released immediately after I call (or once PM’s aircraft leaves), the second after 10-15 minutes, and the third when we reach Seoul around 5 pm India time (will try to send SMS to Desk Mobile on reaching).

Have discussed with MR. He will be doing the story on departure statement, and take a call on whether it will be a stand alone story or a second lead. I will be in Seoul at around 5 pm (India Time) the same day.

The basic arrival story, attached below, can be released after I send an SMS as stated above, or when it is confirmed. While I will file lead soon after (around 30-45 minutes or so thereafter), please update if I am delayed-with a drop sent to me-so that I can take it forward as soon as possible.

James will coordinate business coverage.
To reach me, please dial:
I will send the Media Centre number as soon as I get the same.



Manmohan Singh leaves for G20 Summit in Seoul

New Delhi, Nov 10 (IANS) Prime Minister Manmohan Singh left for Seoul for the 5th G20 Summit Wednesday where he will meet his host, South Korean President Lee Myung-bak, apart from other leaders, including US President Barack Obama for the second time in less than a week.

During the three-day visit, the prime minister is not only expected to articulate India’s stand on how to achieve global financial stability - the basic foundation of the grouping of the top rich and emerging economies, but also meet a host of leaders on the margins.

Apart from the meeting with Lee, the meetings of Manmohan Singh confirmed so far include those from Ethiopia - not a member but an invitee at G20 — as also from Canada, Britain and Brazil, officials here said.

The G20, originally formed at the level of finance ministers and central bank governors in 1999 after the East Asian economic crisis, has assumed significance after it was elevated to a summit-level forum in 2008 after the ongoing global financial crisis.

Besides India, South Korea, Brazil, US and Canada, the G20 comprises Argentina, Australia, China, France, Germany, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, Britain, and the European Union.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |