Left Front announces candidates for Bengal by-polls

April 30th, 2012 - 9:53 pm ICT by IANS  

Kolkata, April 30 (IANS) The Left Front announced Monday its candidates for the Daspur and Bankura assembly seats in West Bengal where by-elections are scheduled on June 12.

While Samar Mukherjee has been nominated as Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) candidate for Daspur constituency, Nilanjan Dasgupta will contest Bankura seat on the party ticket, a Left Front statement said.

The Assembly constituencies fell vacant following the death of Trinamool Congress legislators Ajit Bhunia, who represented West Midnapore district’s Daspur, and Kashinath Mishra, who had won from Bankura (headquarters of Bankura district).

The Trinamool has already nominated Bhunia’s widow Mamata Bhunia from Daspur and Mishra’s widow Minati Mishra from Bankura.

According to the Election Commission, the notification for the elections will be issued May 18, with May 25 being the last date for filing nomination.

Candidates can withdraw from the fray by May 28. Polling will be held between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. on June 12 and the results declared June 15.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |