Lalthanhawla elected Mizoram Congress legislature party leader

December 10th, 2008 - 2:09 pm ICT by IANS  

Aizawl, Dec 10 (IANS) Congress party state president Lalthanhawla was Wednesday unanimously elected as leader of the Congress Legislature Party (CLP) in Mizoram.”Lalthanhawla was elected CLP leader by the newly elected Congress legislators,” said K.K. Thanga, state Congress spokesman.

The main opposition Congress voted out the Mizo National Front (MNF) government headed by chief minister Zoramthanga in the Dec 2 assembly elections, result of which were declared Monday.

The Congress secured 32 seats in the 40-member house while MNF bagged only three seats and its junior partner Maraland Democratic Front (MDF) got one seat.

The third player United Democratic Alliance (UDA)’s major constituents Mizoram People’s Conference (MPC) and Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP) managed to bag two seats each.

Thanga said: “All the 32 newly-elected MLAs attended a meeting at the state party headquarters in Aizawl in the presence of (All India Congress Committee general secretary) Ved Prakash, (union minister of state for chemicals and fertilizers and mines) Bijoy Krishna Handique and (former Goa chief minister) Luizinho Faleiro.”

“The new CLP leader Lalthanhawla will meet Governor (Lt Gen [Retd] M.M. Lakhera) later Wednesday to stake claim to forming the government,” he said.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |