Irani Trophy: Ganguly, Yuvraj dropped from Rest of India squad

September 8th, 2008 - 4:51 pm ICT by IANS  

Mumbai, Sep 8 (IANS) Yuvraj Singh and former India captain Sourav Ganguly were not picked for the Rest of India squad for the Irani Trophy against Ranji Trophy champions Delhi in Vadodara Sep 24-28.The selectors, who met here at the Wankhede Stadium, selected Anil Kumble as the captain of the 14-member squad announced Monday. They also picked Sachin Tendulkar, who will be looking to get over his poor from in the three-match Test series against Sri lanka.

Bengal medium pacer Ashok Dinda was a surprise inclusion in the squad, which is meant to feature probables for the four-match Test series against Australia in October.

The selectors also decided to retain Subramaniam Badrinath as the captain of the India A side for the limited-overs tri-series, involving Australia A and New Zealand A, starting Sep 15. Suresh Raina will be Badrinath’s deputy while Dinesh Karthik, who was replaced by Parthiv Patel in the Rest of India squad, will be India A’s wicketkeeper.


Rest of India: Anil Kumble (captain), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (vice-captain/wicketkeeper), Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, V.V.S. Laxman, Wasim Jaffar, Mohammed Kaif, Harbhajan Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Zaheer Khan, Munaf Patel, Rudra Pratap Singh, Parthiv Patel (wicketkeeper) and Ashok Dinda.

India A: Subramaniam Badrinath (captain), Suresh Raina (vice-captain), Robin Uthappa, Swapnil Asnodkar, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Abhishek Nayar, Irfan Pathan, Praveen Kumar, Dhaval Kulkarni, Piyush Chawla, Ravi Teja, Yusuf Pathan, Jaydev Shah, Wriddhiman Saha.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |