India bat first in fourth ODI against Sri Lanka

August 27th, 2008 - 4:16 pm ICT by IANS  

Colombo, Aug 27 (IANS) Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to bat in the fourth ODI against Sri Lanka at the R. Premadasa Stadium here Wednesday.The ODI has been rescheduled after no play was possible due to rain Tuesday.

Sri Lanka made one change from the side that lost the third ODI, bringing in opener Malinda Warnapura to sort out the crisis in the opening slot. He replaces middle order batsman Chamara Silva.

Wicketkeeper batsman Kumar Sangakkara will move to the number three position.

India remain unchanged for the game and a win here will give them a 3-1 unassailable lead in the five-match series.

Indians lost the first ODI in Dambulla by eight wickets, they won the second game by three wickets and the third at R. Premadasa by 33 runs.

Team: Sri Lanka
Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Malinda Warnapura, Sanath Jayasuriya, Kumar Sangakkara (wicketkeeper), Chamara Kapugedara, Tillekeratne Dilshan, Chaminda Vaas, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ajantha Mendis, Thilina Tushara Mirando and Nuwan Kulasekara.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain and wicketkeeper), Gautam Gambhir, Subramaniam Badrinath, Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Munaf Patel and Praveen Kumar.

Umpires: Billy Doctrove (WI) and Gamini Silva (SL)
Third Umpire: T.H. Wijewardene (SL)
Match Referee: Chris Broad (Eng)

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |